Monday, December 11, 2017

Brave (A Wicked Trilogy #3) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Title: Brave (A Wicked Trilogy #3)
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Pages: 362
Genre: New Adult/Fantasy/Paranormal
Release Date: December 11, 2017
Buy: Amazon| Kobo|
*received for review by author*

Summary (Goodreads)

Ivy Morgan hasn't been feeling like herself lately. Not like anyone can blame her. After all, being held captive by a psychotic fae prince hell-bent on permanently opening the gates to the Otherworld is bound to leave some mental scars.

It’s more than that, though. Something dark and insidious is spreading throughout Ivy, more powerful than she could ever imagine... and it’s coming between her and the man she’s fallen deeply in love with, elite Order member Ren Owens.

Ren would do anything to keep Ivy safe. Anything. But when he makes a life altering choice for her, the fallout of his act has far reaching consequences that threaten to tear their lives apart. If Ivy is going to have any hope of surviving this, she must put aside the hurt and betrayal she feels, and work with not only those she loves, but with an enemy she would rather kill than ever trust. War is coming, and it soon becomes clear that what Ivy and Ren thought they knew about the Order, themselves, and even their enemies, has been nothing but a cluster of dangerous, deadly lies. Ivy knows she must be more than just brave to save those she loves--and, ultimately, to save herself.

Because behind ever evil fae Prince, there’s a Queen…


Review: 

This is by far the best book in the series! After the end of Torn, I couldn't wait to get my hands on this!! Thank you Stephanie and Jen for letting me review Brave. Immediately once receiving the book I dived in quickly to find that I finished it so fast that I didn't even look at the time!  This is why Jennifer is one of my favourite authors because her writing and characters are so addicting.

Tink definitely stole the show in this one. His character development was spot on and it was exciting to see more of his humour come out especially around Ivy. Brave was much more serious compared to the other two books,  and Tink really helped with that humour part during the big scenes. All the scenes were written expertly and to the point! I loved the surprise end to the series! You definitely won't expect it!

If you are looking for a great New Adult paranormal romance this series is a must read or if you are a big fan of Jen's! Her books will grab your attention immediately and you will fall in love with Ivy, Ren and Tink! Overall, I was very happy with the end that completes Ren and Ivy's story. Get your hands on these books right away!

5/5

Saturday, December 9, 2017

There's Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins

Title: There's Someone Inside Your House
Author: Stephanie Perkins
Pages: 289
Genre: YA/Horror/Contemporary
Publisher: Dutton Books for YR/Penguin Random House Canada
Release Date: September 26, 2017
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo
*Received for review by Penguin Random House Canada*

Summary (Goodreads)

Love hurts...

Makani Young thought she'd left her dark past behind her in Hawaii, settling in with her grandmother in landlocked Nebraska. She's found new friends and has even started to fall for mysterious outsider Ollie Larsson. But her past isn't far behind.

Then, one by one, the students of Osborne Hugh begin to die in a series of gruesome murders, each with increasingly grotesque flair. As the terror grows closer and her feelings for Ollie intensify, Makani is forced to confront her own dark secrets.


Review: 

A NEW STEPHANIE PERKINS BOOK!!! As you can see I'm so excited for this book to be officially out!! Waiting for years for this book. I'm a big fan of Stephanie Perkins because of the Anna and the French Kiss series that serious has been one of my favourites of all time contemporary books due to the fact that Stephanie is a brilliant writer.

Now on to There's Someone Inside Your House, lets just say that I was not disappointed! It was not like any of her past books which I was perfectly fine with because we get to see a different side of Stephanie's writing skills. Let's say that you will probably enjoy this book because teens do get murdered, even though I'm not a big horror movie buff, this left me a bit scared by the end. Now I have chills after finding out who the killer was because they were certainly diabolical and very twisted.

I'm definitely looking forward to what Stephanie has planned next for her readers because all her books are on my list! It was also diverse characters which was great to see in books!! The book was a thriller but it had many moments that it became a fun read. Beware don't read it alone in the dark/in your house alone!

5/5

Friday, December 8, 2017

Once and for All by Sarah Dessen

Title: Once and for All
Author: Sarah Dessen
Pages: 358
Genre: YA Contemporary
Publisher: Viking Books for Young Readers/Penguin Canada
Release Date: June 6, 2017
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo
*Received for review by Penguin Random House Canada*

Summary (Goodreads)

As bubbly as champagne and delectable as wedding cake, Once and for All, Sarah Dessen's thirteenth novel, is set in the world of wedding planning, where crises are routine. 

Louna, daughter of famed wedding planner Natalie Barrett, has seen every sort of wedding: on the beach, at historic mansions, in fancy hotels and clubs. Perhaps that's why she's cynical about happily-ever-after endings, especially since her own first love ended tragically. When Louna meets charming, happy-go-lucky serial dater Ambrose, she holds him at arm's length. But Ambrose isn't about to be discouraged, now that he's met the one girl he really wants. 

Sarah Dessen’s many, many fans will adore her latest, a richly satisfying, enormously entertaining story that has everything—humor, romance, and an ending both happy and imperfect, just like life itself.


Review: 

This is my first Sarah Dessen novel that I finally read! Once I heard about the summary of this book I knew I had to request a copy because it sounded like my kind of book. I was immediately drawn to the characters as well as hooked to the plot. Lets say that I was not disappointed when I finished the book because the main character does not believe in happy endings but she works with her mom who is a wedding planner. Louna is definitely a character who is independent and knows what she wants.

I was immediately drawn to the originality of the entire book. The behind the scenes about wedding planning is so intense and it seriously takes a long time to plan a wedding. Louna then meets the charming Ambrose who is up for the challenge for her to be the one girl he really wants. Plus he is funny! The way the book was written is by past (a year before) and present. You really understand why is written this way because near the end you get to become an emotional mess.

For this being my first Sarah Dessen novel it certainly did not disappoint. While I was a little sad/mad with the end, it made me smile by the end of the book. The romance in its entirely was a little disappointing and it made me feel like it was incomplete by the end. Overall, I did enjoy the read and I will probably be picking up more of her books in the future!

4/5

Thursday, December 7, 2017

Bonfire by Krysten Ritter

Title: Bonefire
Author: Krysten Ritter
Pages: 288
Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Fiction
Publisher: Hutchinson/Penguin Random House Canada
Release Date: November 7, 2017
Buy: Amazon| Kobo| Chapters Indigo
*Received for review by Penguin Random House Canada

Summary: (Goodreads)

Should you ever go back?

It has been ten years since Abby Williams left home and scrubbed away all visible evidence of her small town roots. Now working as an environmental lawyer in Chicago, she has a thriving career, a modern apartment, and her pick of meaningless one-night stands.

But when a new case takes her back home to Barrens, Indiana, the life Abby painstakingly created begins to crack. Tasked with investigating Optimal Plastics, the town's most high-profile company and economic heart, Abby begins to find strange connections to Barrens’ biggest scandal from more than a decade ago involving the popular Kaycee Mitchell and her closest friends—just before Kaycee disappeared for good.

Abby knows the key to solving any case lies in the weak spots, the unanswered questions. But as Abby tries to find out what really happened to Kaycee, she unearths an even more disturbing secret—a ritual called “The Game,” which will threaten the reputations, and lives, of the community and risk exposing a darkness that may consume her.

With tantalizing twists, slow-burning suspense, and a remote, rural town of just five claustrophobic miles, Bonfire is a dark exploration of the question: can you ever outrun your past?


Review:

Krysten Ritter definitely knows how to write! Yes, she plays Jessica Jones on Netflix!! You will definitely not be able to put this thriller down because it leaves you on the edge of your seat. It's so fast paced that you will not expect to be done so quickly! It's so dark and twisty that you will question  them.

Abby Williams is an environmental lawyer who has returned to her small town roots in Barren, Indiana after ten years being away. She has many bad memories of her hometown before she left after  graduation. I thought the plot was very interesting and how Abby's relationship with the town is not fully resolved and then you have more unanswered questions. Told in her point of view you get to see  at times she can become and unreliable character and struggles with being back.

Overall, Bonfire was an interesting read! I enjoyed Krysten's writing style and will probably read another if there's more by her. If you are looking for a great suspense novel like Gillian Flynn's, you will want to try reading this book. While there is a love triangle it is dealt with appropriately. I did also like how it ended. It was a very compelling mystery that you must grab today!

4/5


Wednesday, December 6, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday: Rage (Stormheart #2) by Cora Carmack

Title: Rage (Stormheart #2)
Author: Cora Carmack
Pages: 352
Genre: YA Fantasy
Publisher: Tor Teen/Raincoast Books
Release Date: June 5, 2018 

Summary (Goodreads)

New York Times bestselling author Cora Carmack's young adult debut series: the second in a captivating new YA fantasy/romance series perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard

Princess or adventurer.

Duty or freedom.

Her Kingdom or the Stormhunter she loves.

If Aurora knows anything, it's that choices have consequences. To set things right, she joins a growing revolution on the streets of Pavan. 

In disguise as the rebel Roar, she puts her knowledge of the palace to use to aid the rebellion. But the Rage season is at its peak and not a day passes without the skies raining down destruction. Yet these storms are different—they churn with darkness, and attack with a will that’s desperate and violent. 

This feels like more than rage. 

It feels like war.



Tuesday, December 5, 2017

Whichwood by Tahereh Mafi

Title: Whichwood (Furthermore #2)
Author: Tahereh Mafi
Pages: 368
Genre: Fantasy, Middle Grade
Publisher: Dutton Books for Young Readers/Penguin Random House Canada
Release Date: November 14, 2017
Buy: AmazonCA| Kobo | Chapters Indigo
* Received for review by Penguin RandomHouse Canada*

Summary (Goodreads)

A new adventure about a girl who is fated to wash the bodies of the dead in this companion to Furthermore.

Our story begins on a frosty night…

Laylee can barely remember the happier times before her beloved mother died. Before her father, driven by grief, lost his wits (and his way). Before she was left as the sole remaining mordeshoor in the village of Whichwood, destined to spend her days washing the bodies of the dead and preparing their souls for the afterlife. It’s become easy to forget and easier still to ignore the way her hands are stiffening and turning silver, just like her hair, and her own ever-increasing loneliness and fear.

But soon, a pair of familiar strangers appears, and Laylee’s world is turned upside down as she rediscovers color, magic, and the healing power of friendship.
 


Review: 

I loved Whichwood! As always Tahereh Mafi has written a beautiful story about friendship, magic and it was very detailed. This is a companion novel to Furthermore but it could be read individually. I'm slowly starting to get back into reading middle grade as one of my goals and Whichwood is a great start to that list. Plus look at the beautiful cover!!

Whichwood follows our main character Laylee who lives in Whichwood, set in the same world as Furthermore's Farenwood but its a totally a different city. Farenwood is where colours come to life while in Whichwood is a town of contrast. Laylee spends her days washing the dead and preparing them for the afterlife. Now she wants something new and sets off on an adventure with Alice and Oliver.

Tahereh Mafi is an amazing storyteller who knows how to hook her readers and create an interesting world + characters that you want to see this series become a movie eventually. Whichwood is such a creative read that you get to know more about Alice and Oliver from the Furthermore as well as more characters. If you haven't read any of Tahereh's books you definitely want to pick up any of them because when you are reading you feel like you are in the book and can imagine it. Be ready to follow this great adventure in Whichwood! You won't put it down.

4.5/5

Thursday, November 30, 2017

Berkley Bookmas!!


Stuck in YA Books is so excited to participate in Berkley Bookmas and we’re hosting Chanel Cleeton today! Berkley Bookmas is chock full of exclusive content from authors like exclusive excerpts, deleted scenes, author recipes and more! Check out the calendar of events below:

One of my favorite holiday traditions is celebrating Noche Buena. In the Cuban culture, Christmas Eve is the night where we have our big meal, and throughout my childhood, my family would celebrate the evening with a pig roast and some of my favorite dishes like black beans and rice, yucca, flan, and more. The pig roasts in either a pit or a wooden box with coals on top of a grate all day long, and everyone gathers in the backyard, listening to music, relaxing and celebrating while the meal cooks. It’s a really fun way to pass the day and in Florida the weather is usually perfect for spending it outside. Once the pig is ready and the other food is cooked, the party goes on into late hours of the night (or early hours of the morning). While roasting a whole pig can be a daunting endeavor, if you want to celebrate Noche Buena in Cuban style, here’s my favorite family recipe for black beans and rice that’s the perfect side to any Christmas Eve dinner.

Black Beans & Rice Recipe

1 15.5 oz. can Goya Black Beans
2 tbl. olive oil 
1 tbl. white cooking wine
2 minced cloves of garlic
1 tsp. oregano
1 bay leaf
3/4 cup of water
1 tsp. cumin
1/2 cup onion, finely chopped
1/4 cup green pepper, finely chopped
1/4 tsp. Goya Adobo seasoning
Salt
Pepper
Cilantro

2 cups cooked long grain white rice



Place the beans and the water in a small to medium sized saucepan and cook over low to medium heat until warm. Add oil, cooking wine, garlic, oregano, bay leaf, cumin, onion, green pepper, and Adobo to the beans and mix. Bring to a boil. Lower heat and cook on low for one hour. Check regularly to make sure it doesn’t foam/bubble over. Serve over two cups of cooked long grain white rice (either according to package instructions in saucepan or in rice cooker). Season with salt and pepper to taste when serving. Can top with cilantro. 




For tomorrow’s fun, head to one of the following blogs: 
·         Book briefs
·         kimberlyfaye reads
·         Booklovers For Life
·         Shh Moms Reading





Wednesday, November 29, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday: Save the Date by Morgan Matson

Title: Save the Date 
Author: Morgan Matson
Pages: 480
Genre: YA Contemporary
Publisher: Simon Schuster Books for Young Readers
Release Date: June 5, 2018 

Summary (Goodreads)

Charlie Grant’s older sister is getting married this weekend at their family home, and Charlie can’t wait—for the first time in years, all four of her older siblings will be under one roof. Charlie is desperate for one last perfect weekend, before the house is sold and everything changes. The house will be filled with jokes and games and laughs again. Making decisions about things like what college to attend and reuniting with longstanding crush Jesse Foster—all that can wait. She wants to focus on making the weekend perfect.

The only problem? The weekend is shaping up to be an absolute disaster.

There’s the unexpected dog with a penchant for howling, house alarm that won’t stop going off, and a papergirl with a grudge.

There are the relatives who aren’t speaking, the (awful) girl her favorite brother brought home unannounced, and a missing tuxedo.

Not to mention the neighbor who seems to be bent on sabotage and a storm that is bent on drenching everything. The justice of the peace is missing. The band will only play covers. The guests are all crazy. And the wedding planner’s nephew is unexpectedly, distractingly…cute.

Over the course of three ridiculously chaotic days, Charlie will learn more than she ever expected about the family she thought she knew by heart. And she’ll realize that sometimes, trying to keep everything like it was in the past means missing out on the future.



Friday, November 24, 2017

Books To Look Out For in 2018- Part 2

Here is part 2 of 2018 debut authors. 
Add these book to your TBR lists!


1. The Wicked Deep by Shea Ernshaw 
Release Date: March 6, 2018 

About:

Hocus Pocus and Practical Magic meets the Salem Witch trials in this haunting story about three sisters on a quest for revenge—and how love may be the only thing powerful enough to stop them.

Welcome to the cursed town of Sparrow…

Where, two centuries ago, three sisters were sentenced to death for witchery. Stones were tied to their ankles and they were drowned in the deep waters surrounding the town.

Now, for a brief time each summer, the sisters return, stealing the bodies of three weak-hearted girls so that they may seek their revenge, luring boys into the harbor and pulling them under.

Like many locals, seventeen-year-old Penny Talbot has accepted the fate of the town. But this year, on the eve of the sisters’ return, a boy named Bo Carter arrives; unaware of the danger he has just stumbled into.

Mistrust and lies spread quickly through the salty, rain-soaked streets. The townspeople turn against one another. Penny and Bo suspect each other of hiding secrets. And death comes swiftly to those who cannot resist the call of the sisters.

But only Penny sees what others cannot. And she will be forced to choose: save Bo, or save herself.
 


2. Your One & Only by Adrianne Finlay 
Release Date: February 6, 2018

About: 

Jack is a walking fossil. The only human among a sea of clones. It’s been hundreds of years since humanity died off in the slow plague, leaving the clones behind to carry on human existence. Over time they’ve perfected their genes, moving further away from the imperfections of humanity. But if they really are perfect, why did they create Jack?

While Jack longs for acceptance, Althea-310 struggles with the feeling that she’s different from her sisters. Her fascination with Jack doesn’t help. As Althea and Jack’s connection grows stronger, so does the threat to their lives. What will happen if they do the unthinkable and fall in love?
 



3. Brightly Burning by Alexa Donne 
Release Date: May 1, 2018 

About: 

 Seventeen-year-old Stella Ainsley wants just one thing: to go somewhere—anywhere—else. Her home is a floundering spaceship that offers few prospects, having been orbiting an ice-encased Earth for two hundred years. When a private ship hires her as a governess, Stella jumps at the chance. The captain of the Rochester, nineteen-year-old Hugo Fairfax, is notorious throughout the fleet for being a moody recluse and a drunk. But with Stella he’s kind.

But the Rochester harbors secrets: Stella is certain someone is trying to kill Hugo, and the more she discovers, the more questions she has about his role in a conspiracy threatening the fleet.
 




4.  Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi 
Release Date: March 6, 2018 

About: 

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zelie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls. 

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were targeted and killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now, Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good. 

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers—and her growing feelings for the enemy.


5. The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert
Release Date: January 30, 2018 

About:

Seventeen-year-old Alice and her mother have spent most of Alice’s life on the road, always a step ahead of the uncanny bad luck biting at their heels. But when Alice’s grandmother, the reclusive author of a cult-classic book of pitch-dark fairy tales, dies alone on her estate, the Hazel Wood, Alice learns how bad her luck can really get: Her mother is stolen away―by a figure who claims to come from the Hinterland, the cruel supernatural world where her grandmother's stories are set. Alice's only lead is the message her mother left behind: “Stay away from the Hazel Wood.”

Alice has long steered clear of her grandmother’s cultish fans. But now she has no choice but to ally with classmate Ellery Finch, a Hinterland superfan who may have his own reasons for wanting to help her. To retrieve her mother, Alice must venture first to the Hazel Wood, then into the world where her grandmother's tales began―and where she might find out how her own story went so wrong.
 


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...