Friday, October 6, 2017

Warcross (Warcross #1) by Marie Lu

Title: Warcross (Warcross #1)
Author: Marie Lu
Pages: 368
Genre: Young Adult, Sci-fi
Publisher: Penguin Teen/Penguin RandomHouse Canada
Release Date: September 12, 2017
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo
*Received for review by Publisher and Indigo Books and Music

Summary (Goodreads)
For the millions who log in every day, Warcross isn’t just a game—it’s a way of life. The obsession started ten years ago and its fan base now spans the globe, some eager to escape from reality and others hoping to make a profit. Struggling to make ends meet, teenage hacker Emika Chen works as a bounty hunter, tracking down players who bet on the game illegally. But the bounty hunting world is a competitive one, and survival has not been easy. Needing to make some quick cash, Emika takes a risk and hacks into the opening game of the international Warcross Championships—only to accidentally glitch herself into the action and become an overnight sensation.

Convinced she’s going to be arrested, Emika is shocked when instead she gets a call from the game’s creator, the elusive young billionaire Hideo Tanaka, with an irresistible offer. He needs a spy on the inside of this year’s tournament in order to uncover a security problem . . . and he wants Emika for the job. With no time to lose, Emika’s whisked off to Tokyo and thrust into a world of fame and fortune that she’s only dreamed of. But soon her investigation uncovers a sinister plot, with major consequences for the entire Warcross empire.


Review:

This was my first Marie Lu book and it did not disappoint!! I was instantly pulled into the story and the game that I was just reading it too fast. I was also able to listen to the audiobook which is also really well done! Since finishing this I will definitely be reading her other books! Marie Lu has delivered us action, romance, and intrigue! I definitely need the next book in this series. This has to be one of my favourite books of this year!

Warcross is such a unique book with a great plot because it's a story about Emika who has hacked into the most famous game out there. She then hacks into the system during the opening games only glitch herself into the system. Then competes in the game itself as a spy to find out a security problem. I absolutely loved this book from beginning to end. There were so many twists and turns that you will not be able to put this book down. Emika is a very likeable character. She is smart, fierce, and even has rainbow hair! I really like how much she develops as a character. Her backstory is so interesting that I was on the edge of my seat!

Overall, Warcross is a must read! While it may appeal to gamers it can be loved by everyone! Looking for a fast paced book you will want to grab the book immediately because Marie Lu is now on my list of favourite authors because her writing is incredible! Now to wish I had the sequel!!

5/5

Wednesday, October 4, 2017

Without Merit by Colleen Hoover

Title: Without Merit
Author: Colleen Hoover
Pages: 384
Genre: Fiction/Romance/New Adult
Publisher: Atria Books/Simon Schuster Canada
Release Date: October 3, 2017
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo
*Received for review from Simon Schuster Canada*

Summary (Goodreads)
Not every mistake deserves a consequence. Sometimes the only thing it deserves is forgiveness.

The Voss family is anything but normal. They live in a repurposed church, newly baptized Dollar Voss. The once cancer-stricken mother lives in the basement, the father is married to the mother’s former nurse, the little half-brother isn’t allowed to do or eat anything fun, and the eldest siblings are irritatingly perfect. Then, there’s Merit.

Merit Voss collects trophies she hasn’t earned and secrets her family forces her to keep. While browsing the local antiques shop for her next trophy, she finds Sagan. His wit and unapologetic idealism disarm and spark renewed life into her—until she discovers that he’s completely unavailable. Merit retreats deeper into herself, watching her family from the sidelines when she learns a secret that no trophy in the world can fix.

Fed up with the lies, Merit decides to shatter the happy family illusion that she’s never been a part of before leaving them behind for good. When her escape plan fails, Merit is forced to deal with the staggering consequences of telling the truth and losing the one boy she loves.


Review: 

I've been a big fan of Colleen Hoover's and her newest book, Without Merit did not disappoint me! As one of my most anticipated books of this year it no reason why I wouldn't love this one as well. You should've seen my face when I received the ARC from Simon Schuster. Colleen out did herself with this one because its not like any other of her books! The book is for mature YA and our main character is 17 year old Merit who lives in a little small town in Northeast Texas (very small). The Voss family is very interesting/odd. But its such an addicting read that you won't forget it.

While Merit's family is dysfunctional like any normal family, their life is interesting. You go see the family go through a rollercoaster of motions like accepting who they are in their community and ignoring their main problems. There's also Merit's interactions throughout her day right from the beginning of the book. Colleen Hoover has written us a story that is anything like normal but the story is amazing because of its flaws and it will touch so many people. I just loved it right from the start because in ways I could relate to Merit.

If you love any of Colleen's book you will want to grab this book immediately. It was refreshing and a good change for any reader. While you might not understand her families quirks like their fears, secrets and trying to be understood. There are so many twists and turns and times where you light and have the feels. Also Sagan!! Just loved him. Definitely swoony. Colleen has taken us a little away from her normal romance side but this book had so much more. Any CoHorts will fall in love with this story and it will help bring topics that are concerning today! Go pick Without Merit!!

5/5


Wednesday, September 20, 2017

Cover Reveal: Brave (A Wicked Trilogy #3) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

SYNOPSIS:


Ivy Morgan hasn't been feeling like herself lately. Not like anyone can blame her. After all, being held captive by a psychotic fae prince hell-bent on permanently opening the gates to the Otherworld is bound to leave some mental scars.

It’s more than that, though. Something dark and insidious is spreading throughout Ivy, more powerful than she could ever imagine... and it’s coming between her and the man she’s fallen deeply in love with, elite Order member Ren Owens.

Ren would do anything to keep Ivy safe. Anything. But when he makes a life altering choice for her, the fallout of his act has far reaching consequences that threaten to tear their lives apart.
If Ivy is going to have any hope of surviving this, she must put aside the hurt and betrayal she feels, and work with not only those she loves, but with an enemy she would rather kill than ever trust. War is coming, and it soon becomes clear that what Ivy and Ren thought they knew about the Order, themselves, and even their enemies, has been nothing but a cluster of dangerous, deadly lies. Ivy knows she must be more than just brave to save those she loves--and, ultimately, to save herself.

Because behind ever evil fae Prince, there’s a Queen

ADDITIONAL INFO: 

Series: The Wicked Trilogy, Book # 3
RELEASE DATE: December 11th, 2017
Available Formats: Paperback (U.S./Canada) and E-book


Virtual Signing Information: 


To celebrate the upcoming release of BRAVE (book 3 in the Wicked Saga), Jennifer is offering an exclusive virtual signing! Through this virtual signing, you will be able to order SIGNED & PERSONALIZED copies of WICKED, TORN, and BRAVE!
And best of all -- This is OPEN INTERNATIONALLY! 



- Virtual Signing opens 9/21/17 at 11AM ET
- Virtual Signing ends 11/17/17
- Open Internationally
Author Info!!
  
BIO:

# 1 NEW YORK TIMES Bestselling author Jennifer lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing. She spends her time reading, working out, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russell Loki.


SOCIAL MEDIA LINKS:


GIVEAWAY INFO

·      PRIZE: SURPRISE SIGNED PRIZE PACK (containing multiple signed books & swag)
·      OPEN INTERNATIONAL
·      ENDS 10/2/17


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...