Wednesday, December 30, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday: A Torch Against the Night (An Ember in the Ashes #2) by Sabaa Tahir

Title: A Torch Against the Night (#2) 
Author: Sabaa Tahir
Pages: 464
Genre: Fantasy/Young Adult
Publisher: Razorbill 
Release Date: August 30, 2016 

Summary (Goodreads)

A Torch Against the Night takes readers into the heart of the Empire as Laia and Elias fight their way north to liberate Laia’s brother from the horrors of Kauf Prison. Hunted by Empire soldiers, manipulated by the Commandant, and haunted by their pasts, Laia and Elias must outfox their enemies and confront the treacherousness of their own hearts.

In the city of Serra, Helene Aquilla finds herself bound to the will of the Empire’s twisted new leader, Marcus. When her loyalty is questioned, Helene finds herself taking on a mission to prove herself—a mission that might destroy her, instead.

This is definitely one of my MOST anticipated releases! 

Check out my review of the first book An Ember in the Ashes (click on the picture)



Tuesday, December 29, 2015

My Top Favorites of 2015

Hey everyone!!!

This year has been an amazing year so far! I have only one more semester of my program left and these past few months have kept me busy and I have not read that many books since September. But next year will be better! Here are some of my favorite books of 2015:




 Ice Like Fire (Snow Like Ashes #2) by Sara Raasch 
Nowhere But Here by Katie McGarry 

 Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass #4) by Sarah J. Maas -Review
The Deal (#1) by Elle Kennedy -Review

 The Boy Most Likely To (My Life Next Door #2) by Huntley Fitzpatrick
Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo 

 Before We Were Strangers by Renee Carlino 
The Anatomical Shape of a Heart by Jenn Bennett

 Passenger (Passenger #1) by Alexandra Bracken
The Wrath & The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh 

The Winner's Crime by Marie Rutkoski 
The Heart of Betrayal by Mary E. Pearson 

Wednesday, December 23, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday: Firstlife (Everlife #1) by Gena Showalter

Title: Firstlife (Everlife #1) 
Author: Gena Showalter 
Pages: 480
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Release Date: February 23, 2016

Summary (Goodreads)

ONE CHOICE.

TWO REALMS.

NO SECOND CHANCE.

Tenley “Ten” Lockwood is an average seventeen-year-old girl…who has spent the past thirteen months locked inside the Prynne Asylum. The reason? Not her obsession with numbers, but her refusal to let her parents choose where she’ll live—after she dies.

There is an eternal truth most of the world has come to accept: Firstlife is merely a dress rehearsal, and real life begins after death.

In the Everlife, two realms are in power: Troika and Myriad, longtime enemies and deadly rivals. Both will do anything to recruit Ten, including sending their top Laborers to lure her to their side. Soon, Ten finds herself on the run, caught in a wild tug-of-war between the two realms who will do anything to win the right to her soul. Who can she trust? And what if the realm she’s drawn to isn’t home to the boy she’s falling for? She just has to stay alive long enough to make a decision…



Friday, December 18, 2015

Most Anticipated Books of 2016 (Part One)

I am looking forward to sooo many books next year as many of you know especially when I am on Twitter. There are going to be many books that are going to be on my list but, here are just a few that I'm looking for in 2016.












Wednesday, December 16, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday: The Score (Off-Campus #3) by Elle Kennedy

Title: The Score (Off-Campus #3)
Author: Elle Kennedy 
Pages: 249 (Kindle) 
Genre: New Adult
Release Date: January 11, 2016

Summary (Goodreads) 

He knows how to score, on and off the ice 

Allie Hayes is in crisis mode. With graduation looming, she still doesn’t have the first clue about what she's going to do after college. To make matters worse, she’s nursing a broken heart thanks to the end of her longtime relationship. Wild rebound sex is definitely not the solution to her problems, but gorgeous hockey star Dean Di-Laurentis is impossible to resist. Just once, though, because even if her future is uncertain, it sure as heck won’t include the king of one-night stands. 

It’ll take more than flashy moves to win her over 

Dean always gets what he wants. Girls, grades, girls, recognition, girls…he’s a ladies man, all right, and he’s yet to meet a woman who’s immune to his charms. Until Allie. For one night, the feisty blonde rocked his entire world—and now she wants to be friends? Nope. It’s not over until he says it’s over. Dean is in full-on pursuit, but when life-rocking changes strike, he starts to wonder if maybe it’s time to stop focusing on scoring…and shoot for love.


Wednesday, December 9, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday: And I Darken (The Conquerors Saga #1) by Kiersten White

Title: And I Darken (The Conquerors Saga #1)
Author: Kiersten White
Pages: 475
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult
Publisher: Delacorte Press/Random House Canada
Release Date: June 28, 2016

Summary (Goodreads) 

NO ONE EXPECTS A PRINCESS TO BE BRUTAL. And Lada Dragwlya likes it that way. Ever since she and her gentle younger brother, Radu, were wrenched from their homeland of Wallachia and abandoned by their father to be raised in the Ottoman courts, Lada has known that being ruthless is the key to survival. She and Radu are doomed to act as pawns in a vicious game, an unseen sword hovering over their every move. For the lineage that makes them special also makes them targets.

Lada despises the Ottomans and bides her time, planning her vengeance for the day when she can return to Wallachia and claim her birthright. Radu longs only for a place where he feels safe. And when they meet Mehmed, the defiant and lonely son of the sultan, who’s expected to rule a nation, Radu feels that he’s made a true friend—and Lada wonders if she’s finally found someone worthy of her passion.

But Mehmed is heir to the very empire that Lada has sworn to fight against—and that Radu now considers home. Together, Lada, Radu, and Mehmed form a toxic triangle that strains the bonds of love and loyalty to the breaking point.
 



Wednesday, December 2, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday: Assassin's Heart by Sarah Ahiers

Title: Assassin's Heart 
Author: Sarah Ahiers
Pages: 400 
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult
Publisher: HarperTeen/HarperCollins Canada
Release Date: February 2, 2015

Summary (Goodreads)

 In the kingdom of Lovero, nine rival Families of assassins lawfully kill people for a price. As a highly skilled member of one of these powerful clans, seventeen-year-old Lea Saldana has always trusted in the strength of her Family. Until she awakens to find them murdered and her home in flames. The Da Vias, the Saldanas’ biggest enemy, must be responsible—and Lea should have seen it coming. But her secret relationship with the Da Vias’ son, Val, has clouded her otherwise killer instinct—and given the Da Vias more reason than ever to take her Family down.

Racked with guilt and shattered over Val’s probable betrayal, Lea sets out to even the score, with her heart set on retaliation and only one thought clear in her mind: make the Da Vias pay.

With shades of The Godfather and Romeo and Juliet, this richly imagined fantasy from debut author Sarah Ahiers is a story of love, lies, and the ultimate vengeance.


Tuesday, December 1, 2015

In the Spirit of Giving!



Hello everyone!

 I know I haven't been posting much these past few months because I have been busy with school (lots of homework and for my placement). Since it is December 1, I have been sort of planning to have a giveaway for all my followers! In the spirit of Christmas I will be giving away a copy of my favorite books (a choice out of eight) it was soo hard to choose which one because I love every book that I have read these past few years! 


So there will be 2 winners! They will have a choice to win one of these 8 books! 

Giveaway is open INTERNATIONALLY!!!! 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, November 25, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday: The Girl from Everywhere (#1) by Heidi Heilig

Title: The Girl form Everywhere
Author: Heidi Heilig
Pages: 464
Genre: Y.A. Historical Fiction 
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Release Date: February 16, 2016/HarperCollins Canada

Summary (Goodreads)

Heidi Heilig’s debut teen fantasy sweeps from modern-day New York City to nineteenth-century Hawaii to places of myth and legend. Sixteen-year-old Nix has sailed across the globe and through centuries aboard her time-traveling father’s ship. But when he gambles with her very existence, it all may be about to end. The Girl from Everywhere, the first of two books, will dazzle readers of Sabaa Tahir, Rae Carson, and Rachel Hartman.

Nix’s life began in Honolulu in 1868. Since then she has traveled to mythic Scandinavia, a land from the tales of One Thousand and One Nights, modern-day New York City, and many more places both real and imagined. As long as he has a map, Nix’s father can sail his ship, The Temptation, to any place, any time. But now he’s uncovered the one map he’s always sought—1868 Honolulu, before Nix’s mother died in childbirth. Nix’s life—her entire existence—is at stake. No one knows what will happen if her father changes the past. It could erase Nix’s future, her dreams, her adventures . . . her connection with the charming Persian thief, Kash, who’s been part of their crew for two years. If Nix helps her father reunite with the love of his life, it will cost her her own.

In The Girl from Everywhere, Heidi Heilig blends fantasy, history, and a modern sensibility with witty, fast-paced dialogue, breathless adventure, and enchanting romance.


Look at that cover!!! Plus its set in my favorite place: Hawaii !! I've only heard the most amazing things about this book too which is why its my pick this week! 

Monday, November 23, 2015

Before We Were Strangers by Renee Carlino


Title: Before We Were Strangers
Author: Renee Carlino
Pages: 320
Genre: Romance/New Adult
Publisher: Atria Books/Simon Schuster Canada
Release Date: August 18, 2015
Buy: AmazonCA| Chapters Indigo| Kobo 
*received an ARC for review purposes from Atria Books*

Summary (Goodreads)

To the Green-eyed Lovebird:
We met fifteen years ago, almost to the day, when I moved my stuff into the NYU dorm room next to yours at Senior House.
You called us fast friends. I like to think it was more.
We lived on nothing but the excitement of finding ourselves through music (you were obsessed with Jeff Buckley), photography (I couldn’t stop taking pictures of you), hanging out in Washington Square Park, and all the weird things we did to make money. I learned more about myself that year than any other.
Yet, somehow, it all fell apart. We lost touch the summer after graduation when I went to South America to work for National Geographic. When I came back, you were gone. A part of me still wonders if I pushed you too hard after the wedding…
I didn’t see you again until a month ago. It was a Wednesday. You were rocking back on your heels, balancing on that thick yellow line that runs along the subway platform, waiting for the F train. I didn’t know it was you until it was too late, and then you were gone. Again. You said my name; I saw it on your lips. I tried to will the train to stop, just so I could say hello.
After seeing you, all of the youthful feelings and memories came flooding back to me, and now I’ve spent the better part of a month wondering what your life is like. I might be totally out of my mind, but would you like to get a drink with me and catch up on the last decade and a half?

M

AMAZON   ***   BARNES & NOBLE ***  iBooks




RenĂ©e Carlino is a screenwriter and bestselling author of romantic women's novels. She lives in Southern California with her husband, two sons, and their sweet dog June. When she’s not at the beach with her boys or working on her next project, she likes to spend her time reading, going to concerts, and eating dark chocolate.




Review: 

I absolutely loved this book that I had to finish it in one day! Loved every minute of reading because while reading it I got all nervous and anxious at what was going to happen next for these characters. There was tears happening during some points. Renee Carlino is a great writer that immediately drew me in with just the plot and I am very glad that I own all the rest of her books since I've only heard amazing things about all of them. But I was very happy with the entire novel! 

Before We Were Strangers is told from Matt and Grace's point of views and divided into four parts. Part one is set were Matt is 36. He is a photographer who lives in NYC, divorced and not happy with how his life turned out so far. Then one day while standing on the platform he sees Grace who is his college girlfriend. But then the doors to the subway closes and he then wonders if he can ever find her again.

I loved the entire premise of how the book sounded because it takes place back 15 years and the present. Both Grace and Matt's point of views felt real and also heartbreaking at some parts because you got to see what they were both feeling during their relationship. Renee did a brilliant job between their narration. Part 2 is when they reflect on what happened in college in their dorms. Part 3 is when we go back to the future. I was excited to see how they met  and how they really understood each other from being friends first then becoming more.

Then we go back to the present and Matt puts an Ad out about Grace that only she would understand. It was adorable!! Also Grace's point of view was very interesting because we got to see her passion in music and Matt's photography. Part 3 is one of the parts that made me cry and I felt that the book ended on a good note for me because it was a beautiful story that I want to probably re-read it after writing this review. Overall if you haven't pick up any of Renee Carlino's books I recommend you do because her writing reminds me of Colleen Hoover which is also addicting. If you go to the bookstore, be sure to check this one out!

5/5 

Wednesday, November 18, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday: Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum

Title: Tell Me Three Things
Author: Julie Buxbaum 
Pages: 270
Genre: YA Contemporary 
Publisher: Delacorte Press 
Release Date: April 15, 2016

Summary (Goodreads)

What if the person you need the most is someone you’ve never met?

Julie Buxbaum mixes comedy and tragedy, love and loss, pain and elation, in her debut YA novel whose characters will come to feel like friends. Tell Me Three Things will appeal to fans of Rainbow Rowell, Jennifer Niven, and E. Lockhart. 
 
Everything about Jessie is wrong. At least, that’s what it feels like during her first week at her new ultra-intimidating prep school in Los Angeles. Just when she’s thinking about hightailing it back to Chicago—the closest place she has to something like home—she gets an email from a person calling themselves Somebody/Nobody (SN for short), offering to help her navigate the wilds of Wood Valley High School. Is it an elaborate hoax? Or can she rely on SN for some much-needed help?

The thing is, Jessie does need help. It’s been barely two years since her mother’s death, and because her father eloped with a woman he met online, Jessie has been forced to move across the country to live in LA with her stepmonster and her pretentious teenage son.

In a leap of faith—or an act of complete desperation—Jessie begins to rely on SN, and SN quickly becomes her lifeline and closest ally. Jessie can’t help wanting to meet SN in person. But are some mysteries better left unsolved?

Why I am excited:

I have previously read one of her fiction titles and enjoyed it immensely. So I am definitely recommending you read this title! 



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...