Tuesday, March 20, 2018

The Prophecy (Titan #4) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Title: The Prophecy (Titan #4)
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Pages: 356
Genre: YA, Mythology, Fantasy/New Adult
Release Date: March 20, 2018
Buy: Amazon| AmazonCA| Kobo|
*Received ARC for review*

Summary (Goodreads)

History is on repeat…

Seth never thought he’d have a future. But now he’s on the brink of having it all with Josie: A tomorrow. A family. A forever. And all that's standing between him and that forever is the Titans. If he helps Josie entomb them -- without killing them, a nearly impossible task for him -- everything he could ever want will be in reach. But he soon realizes that as a god, every little choice he makes can reshape the world for the better… or worse. And in meddling with the Titans, Seth may have just set into motion catastrophic consequences that will force the Olympians to enter the mortal realm and reshape the delicate balance of power that keeps the world from total collapse.

A price must be paid…

Entombing the Titans is Josie’s top priority. After all, it was what she was born to do. But the plans her father put into play to help her are no longer an option, and the odds she and Seth face in forging their own path are grim. The escalating violence between halfs and pures only increases the danger closing in on them and their friends. Josie knows their chances of succeeding in their task are slim at best -- and if they fail, they might lose everything. But she also knows she's not fighting just for herself -- she's fighting for the man she loves, for their future, for the world. Together with the Army of Awesome, Josie and Seth will face the unthinkable. And to win this war, the ultimate sacrifice must be made.

For the end is here and the Prophecy will be fulfilled….



Review: 

I feel like after reading any of Jen's books, she had my emotions everywhere and in utter complete shock with also happiness. In the conclusion to the Titan series it was action packed, emotional, and a complete page turner! From the moment I first saw Seth in Half-Blood he definitely caught my attention, then my heart in his own series. Engrossed in the story and the characters I know I'm going to have to reread this series because this book was phenomenal.

Josie and Seth's romance from the beginning made my heart feel their love and made me feel like I was a part of their story. Jen knows how to connect you to her characters because of how real the characters interact with each other. It was definitely an emotional journey throughout the series and see it as their love grew stronger within each book and become the power couple everyone can love. Also love the friendships with past favourite characters (Alex, Aiden, etc.) and the humour that makes me laugh! If you have read any of the other series or Jen's book you will enjoy the characters humour! Plus being back within the Covenant world made me happy!

The Prophecy was an incredible end to one of my favourite series! I'm already crying!!! Already crying even while writing this review because I wish this series could go on forever. This is one of the reasons Jennifer L. Armentrout is my auto-buy authors because all her books are amazing! Thank you so much for continuing in this world! You made this original fan very happy with how you concluded this series!

5/5

Wednesday, March 14, 2018

Waiting on Wednesday: Ash Princess by Laura Sebastian

Title: Ash Princess
Author: Laura Sebastian 
Pages: 432
Genre: Fantasy, YA
Publisher: Delacorte Press for Young Readers/Random House Canada
Release Date: April 24, 2018

Summary (Goodreads)

Theodosia was six when her country was invaded and her mother, the Queen of Flame and Fury, was murdered before her eyes. Ten years later, Theo has learned to survive under the relentless abuse of the Kaiser and his court as the ridiculed “Ash Princess.” Pretending to be empty-headed and naive when she's not enduring brutal whippings, she pushes down all other thoughts but one: Keep the Kaiser happy and he will keep you safe.

When the Kaiser forces her to execute her last hope of rescue, Theo can't keep her feelings and memories pushed down any longer. She vows revenge, throwing herself into a plot to seduce and murder the Kaiser's warrior son with the help of a group of magically gifted and volatile rebels. But Theo doesn't expect to develop feelings for the Prinz. Or for her rebel allies to challenge her friendship with the one person who's been kind to her throughout the last hopeless decade: her heart's sister, Cress.

Cornered into impossible choices and unable to trust even those who are on her side, Theo will have to decide how far she's willing to go to save her people and how much of herself she's willing to sacrifice to become queen.
 


Sunday, February 25, 2018

Pre-order Giveaway!!!

With all the buzz of this years new releases, I will be doing a giveaway for ONE book on your pre-order list that you are most anticipating! It could be for example:







This giveaway will be INTERNATIONAL!! Anywhere Book Depository ships!


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, February 21, 2018

Waiting on Wednesday: Furyborn (Empirium #1) by Claire Legrand

Title: Furyborn (The Empirium Trilogy #1)
Author: Claire Legrand 
Pages: 512
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire/Raincoast Books
Release Date: May 22, 2018
Preorder: Amazon| Chapters Indigo

Summary (Goodreads)

The stunningly original, must-read fantasy of 2018 follows two fiercely independent young women, centuries apart, who hold the power to save their world...or doom it.

When assassins ambush her best friend, the crown prince, Rielle Dardenne risks everything to save him, exposing her ability to perform all seven kinds of elemental magic. The only people who should possess this extraordinary power are a pair of prophesied queens: a queen of light and salvation and a queen of blood and destruction. To prove she is the Sun Queen, Rielle must endure seven trials to test her magic. If she fails, she will be executed...unless the trials kill her first.

A thousand years later, the legend of Queen Rielle is a mere fairy tale to bounty hunter Eliana Ferracora. When the Undying Empire conquered her kingdom, she embraced violence to keep her family alive. Now, she believes herself untouchable--until her mother vanishes without a trace, along with countless other women in their city. To find her, Eliana joins a rebel captain on a dangerous mission and discovers that the evil at the heart of the empire is more terrible than she ever imagined.

As Rielle and Eliana fight in a cosmic war that spans millennia, their stories intersect, and the shocking connections between them ultimately determine the fate of their world--and of each other.
 






Monday, February 12, 2018

Blog Tour: Twisted Fate (Twisted #1) by Jessi Elliott (Review)

Title: Twisted Fate
Series: Twisted #1
Author: Jessi Elliott
Genre: Urban Fantasy (New Adult)
Release Date: February 13, 2018
Synopsis
Being kidnapped by the leader of the fae really puts a dent in your senior year. Aurora Marshall is sharp, witty, and always has a plan. Ready to finish her business degree and graduate, her life is going smoothly—until the night she meets Tristan Westbrook. Tristan, the overbearing, gorgeous fae leader, and an admired businessman in the human world, is all kinds of dangerous. While he finds Aurora intriguing, her refusal to bend to his will keeps them locked in a constant power struggle. Entering into a deal is the only way to escape Tristan’s clutches, which only plunges Aurora deeper into the fae world. With her future at stake, she is forced to handle his arrogance and extraordinary fae abilities as she fights to stay grounded in her mundane life. Not to mention her struggle to ignore the growing attraction she knows she shouldn’t feel for the man who kidnapped her. When people said college would be the most exciting time of her life, Aurora never thought this is what they meant.  
Available February 13th
 
 
Review:

I was immediately drawn into Twisted Fate! From the moment I saw the cover and read the description of the book, I knew this book was on going to be on my TBR list. I'm so thankful that I was able to review this book because Jessi Elliott is an author to look out for! Twisted Fate had romance, suspense and a strong fantasy that involves Fae!! 

Our main character Aurora is a fourth year business student, she is then mistakenly abducted by Tristan, the dark leader of the Fae. Once in this world the she never knew existed while now under the protection of Tristan. Did I almost forget to mention that Tristan is hot? I love the chemistry between these two! But as we go along with the story we also discover there is a war beginning between light and dark, with Tristan in the middle of it all. 

I loved all the twist and turns in this book! There were happy and sad moments. We get to see both Aurora and Tristan grow up and figure out their personalities. Jessi did a great job getting us to connect with her characters. Her debut novel was out of this park good and so addictive that I cannot wait to read what is going to happen next! 

4.5/5





About The Author
 
Jessi Elliott is a newly graduated law clerk and debut author of both young adult and new adult romantic fiction. Her love of writing was born after many years of reading and reviewing books on her blog Living Within Fiction.She lives in Southwestern Ontario with her family and two adorable cats. When she’s not plotting her next writing project, she likes to spend her time hanging with friends and family, getting lost in a steamy romance novel, watching Friends, and drinking coffee. You can find Jessi at www.jessielliott.com, on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram to stay up to date on book news and upcoming releases.
 

Wednesday, January 31, 2018

Moonlight Sins (de Vincent #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Title: Moonlight Sins (de Vincent #1)
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Pages: 400
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Avon Books/HarperCollins Canada
Release Date: January 30, 2018
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo 
*Received ARC for honest review*

Summary (Goodreads)

New York Times bestselling author Jennifer L. Armentrout delivers the unforgettable story of a woman whose new life has just begun—but may end in murder...  

Julia Hughes has always played it safe until she learned a very painful lesson. Now Julia’s starting over with a job in the Louisiana bayou—and a scorching encounter with a stranger, only to discover he’s Lucian de Vincent... her new employer. The de Vincent brothers share a massive fortune and a dark reputation. Julia cares for their troubled sister, but a menacing presence in the mansion—and the ever-present temptation of Lucian—prove dangerously distracting.

Lucian’s grandmother claimed de Vincent men fall in love once—and hard. Apparently, it’s Lucian’s turn. Julia’s compassionate care of his twin makes Lucian want to lay himself bare. But some secrets are better for Julia not to know.

The recent “suicide” of Lucian’s father is the latest in a string of deaths on the estate. Someone is eliminating the de Vincents. And the best way to get to Lucian may be through Julia...


Review: 

I loved Moonlight Sins! It had a great mystery and definitely a hot romance! Let's say that I'm still obsessing over this book after reading it a few weeks ago! Jennifer is definitely a master at keeping us in the dark while reading because at every turn is a new surprise! Plus it's set in a New Orleans mansion. If you haven't read any of Jen's books yet, go pick up this one immediately because you will fall in love with her newest romantic thriller series!

Lucian de Vincent is our mysterious male lead who is charming and a very dangerous distraction. Under all that darkness is a sweet side that any woman would fall in love with! He will protect the ones he loves most which is one of my other favourite things about him. Then he meets Julia who has caught his eye from the moment they meet when she moves into the house as a nurse for his sister. I was so excited to see that the book was told in both of their point of views because it helps us get to know each character and the beautiful romance that develops between them. 

If you love drama, danger and some family secrets with a steamy romance, this is the book you must pick up! I loved every second, minute and hour of Moonlight Sins! I'm looking forward to the next book in the series which is from Gabe's point of view!!! 

5/5



Sunday, January 28, 2018

Say You'll Remember Me by Katie McGarry (Blog Tour) Review + Excerpt


   

   

From critically acclaimed author Katie McGarry, comes SAY YOU’LL REMEMBER ME—a story of two people from different worlds pushing themselves, and each other, to get what they deserve!

SAY YOU’LL REMEMBER ME releases on January 30, 2018. Pre-order your copy today!

SAY YOU’LL REMEMBER ME Synopsis:

“Doesn’t matter who did it. Not anymore. I did the time. It’s over.”

When Drix was convicted of a crime–one he didn’t commit–he thought his life was over. But opportunity came with the Second Chance Program, the governor’s newest pet project to get delinquents off the streets, rehabilitated and back into society. Drix knows this is his chance to get his life back on track, even if it means being paraded in front of reporters for a while.

Elle knows she lives a life of privilege. As the governor’s daughter, she can open doors with her name alone. But the expectations and pressure to be someone she isn’t may be too much to handle. She wants to follow her own path, whatever that means.

When Drix and Elle meet, their connection is immediate, but so are their problems. Drix is not the type of boy Elle’s parents have in mind for her, and Elle is not the kind of girl who can understand Drix’s messy life.

But sometimes love can breach all barriers.

Fighting against a society that can’t imagine them together, Drix and Elle must push themselves–Drix to confront the truth of the robbery, and Elle to assert her independence–and each other to finally get what they deserve.

   

Preorder SAY YOU’LL REMEMBER ME here!

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iBooks | Google Play | B-A-M | Kobo

           

Add it to your Goodreads Now!

             

Pre-order SAY YOU’LL REMEMBER ME, register and you will receive AND THEY ALL LIVED HAPPILY EVER AFTER, a novella that features your favorite Pushing the Limits and Thunder Road characters!

From the Pushing the Limits series, Noah, Beth, Isaiah, West and Logan are all grown up. Catch up with your favorite characters as one of them finally says, I do.

Pigpen, Eli and Addison from the Thunder Road series: Three separate personalities who still needed to find love…and still had someone important to meet.

This is a limited time offer! So hurry! Registration ends on February 3, 2018! You must register your pre-order to receive AND THEY ALL LIVED HAPPILY EVER AFTER.

https://a.pgtb.me/4tLZSM

   


Review: 
*Received an ARC for honest review*

Say You'll Remember Me is definitely one of my top favourite books of this year! It was a beautiful heartwarming story that will leave you wanting more of the characters. The writing as always in Katie's books felt true and deal with what is happening today in our society. My emotions were all over the place with Elle and Drix that you will be smiling from ear to ear as well as some moments of sadness.  Be sure to order this book immediately because you will most likely devour it like I did. 

From the moment we meet Drix I was already smitten with him because of who is character is because he is not perfect and is trying to move on after a crime he didn't commit. I found him to be self-sacrificing and loyal to the ones he loved most and true to himself. In the beginning he was broken, alone and not himself. Until he meets Elle at the Midway. 

The relationship from the start was simple flirting which was adorable to them getting to know the real them as they get to know each other while her dad (the Governor) is on tour before they go to vote. While they are from opposite worlds they immediately click. They are true to themselves when they are with each other and you feel the love and hurt within the pages. At times I felt like crying for both of them. Also really enjoyed that it was a slow-burn romance!

Katie McGarry is one author who knows how to pull heart-strings when it comes to books! I loved the writing immediately and hopefully there will be more to this book because I feel like Holiday and even his brother need their own book! Feel like a beautiful love story about friendship, and feeling redeemed go get this book because you will absolutely love it like I did!

5/5




   

Katie McGarry’s SAY YOU’LL REMEMBER ME – Tour Schedule:

January 22nd
January 23rd
January 24th
January 25th
January 26th
January 27th
January 28th
January 29th
January 30th
January 31st
February 1st
February 2nd
February 3rd





About Katie McGarry:

Katie McGarry was a teenager during the age of grunge and boy bands and remembers those years as the best and worst of her life. She is a lover of music, happy endings, reality television, and is a secret University of Kentucky basketball fan. Katie is the author of full length YA novels, PUSHING THE LIMITS, DARE YOU TO, CRASH INTO YOU, TAKE ME ON, BREAKING THE RULES, and NOWHERE BUT HERE and the e-novellas, CROSSING THE LINE and RED AT NIGHT. Her debut YA novel, PUSHING THE LIMITS was a 2012 Goodreads Choice Finalist for YA Fiction, a RT Magazine’s 2012 Reviewer’s Choice Awards Nominee for Young Adult Contemporary Novel, a double Rita Finalist, and a 2013 YALSA Top Ten Teen Pick. DARE YOU TO was also a Goodreads Choice Finalist for YA Fiction and won RT Magazine’s Reviewer’s Choice Best Book Award for Young Adult Contemporary fiction in 2013.    

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Pinterest | Tumbler | Instagram

   


Here is an excerpt!

~Ellison~
The two of us are different. Complete sliding scale different. The only thing we have in common, as far as I can tell, is that he appears about my age and that we are both wearing shoes. My sandals to his scuffed combat boots. His sagging jeans with rips and white T-shirt to my ironed khaki shorts and fitted blue top. My diamond earrings and gold bracelet with a heart charm to his black belt that has metal studs and silver chain that hangs from his belt loop to his wallet.
By looks, I should have more in common with the loser college boys, but it’s this guy I’m comfortable with. “What’s your name?”
He throws the ball, and he’s right, he sucks at it. While he has unbelievable power, his aim’s completely off. The ball hits the back curtain with a loud thud, then drops to the floor. “Drix.”
“Drix?” I repeat to make sure I heard him correctly.
“Drix. It’s short for Hendrix. Like Jimi Hendrix.”
“That’s cool.” Because it is.
I wait for him to ask for my name, but he doesn’t. Instead he says, “Are you here alone?”
He throws the second ball, and this time he hits the top of the three bottles, sending that one to the ground.
“No. My parents are here. I’m supposed to meet them at the convention center. What about you? What happened to the people you were with? Or are you here alone now?”
“Yes, but no.” Drix pulls his arm back, releases the ball, and when the ball hits the bottom bottles, my heart lifts with the idea that he won, but only one of the bottles goes flying. The other stays completely untouched.
He turns in my direction, but his gaze roams over my shoulder, then flickers to the left. Drix then glances behind him, and when he returns his attention to me he raises his eyebrows. “They appear to be gone.”
That’s awesome news, but I’m still stuck on his answer of “yes but no.” Honestly, I’m stuck on him. He’s a million questions without a single answer, and he makes me incredibly curious.
“My parents weren’t thrilled about me hanging out alone at the midway, but I didn’t think it would be that big of a deal. It’s just Whack-A-Mole, you know?”
“And a ball toss.”
“And a ball toss. None of it should have been complicated.”
“Shouldn’t have been.”
“Elle!” Part of me is relieved to see Andrew craning his neck over the crowd. Another part of me is majorly disappointed. There aren’t many times in my life I’m left alone. Not many times I’m able to explore new places and people without someone hovering and not many opportunities when I would meet someone like Drix.
“Elle,” Andrew calls again. I wave at him, hoping it will buy me a few seconds, and he waves back in a way that tells me he needs me to walk in his direction. That works well for me.
“Is that a friend of yours?” Drix asks.
“Yes, but no.” I borrow his answer because it’s apropos. Andrew’s a few years older. More friend of our family than a personal friend of mine, and I don’t like the idea of explaining that my parents think I need a babysitter.
Drix’s mouth twitches at my words, and my lips also edge upwards. “I just made you smile a third time. Is this a Guinness Book of World Records thing?”
“I liked your answer.”

“I’m just creative like that.”

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...