Sunday, November 19, 2017

Books to Look Out for in 2018 (YA Debuts Edition) Part 1

Here are some of my most anticipated releases in 2018!


Book 1: Love Songs & Other Lies by Jessica Pennington 

About: 

It’s summer romance and second chances, the songs that stay in your head, and the boy you’ll never forget.

Two years after rock-song-worthy heartbreak, Virginia Miller is looking forward to a fun, carefree summer. Her friends just landed a spot on a battling bands reality show, and Vee is joining them for her dream internship on tour. Three months with future rockstars seems like an epic summer plan. Until she learns she’ll also be sharing the bus with Cam. Her first love, and her first heartbreak. Now Vee has more than just cameras to dodge, and Cam’s determination to win her forgiveness is causing TMZ-worthy problems for both of them. With cameras rolling, she’ll have to decide if her favorite breakup anthem deserves a new ending. And if she’s brave enough to expose her own secrets to keep Cam’s under wraps.
 




Book 2: Sky in the Deep by Adrienne Young

About: 

Seventeen-year-old Eelyn’s world is war. Raised to fight alongside her Aska clansmen in a generations-old blood feud against the Riki, her life is brutal but simple: fight and survive. Until the day she sees the impossible on the battlefield—her brother, fighting with the enemy—the brother she watched die five years ago.

Faced with her brother's betrayal, she must survive the winter in the mountains with the Riki if she wants to make it back to the fjord after the thaw. But when she begins to see herself in the people she's been taught to hate, the world Eelyn once knew begins to crumble. And after the village is raided by a ruthless clan many believe to be a myth, Eelyn is given no choice but to trust Fiske, her brother’s friend who has tried more than once to kill her. Together, they must end the blood feud between their clans or watch their people be slaughtered.

A lush, Viking-age inspired fantasy about loyalty, forgiveness, and the definition of family.
 


Book 3: Everless by Sara Holland 

About: 

In the land of Sempera, time is extracted from blood and used as payment. Jules Ember and her father were once servants at Everless, the wealthy Gerling family’s estate, but were cast out after of a fateful accident a decade ago. Now, Jules’s father is reaching his last hour, and she will do anything to save him. Desperate to earn time, she arrives at the palace as it prepares for a royal wedding, ready to begin her search into childhood secrets that she once believed to be no more than myths. As she uncovers lost truths, Jules spirals deeper into a past she hardly recognizes, and faces an ancient and dangerous foe who threatens her future and the future of time itself. 


Book 4:  The Queen's Rising by Rebecca Ross 

About: 

When her seventeenth summer solstice arrives, Brienna desires only two things: to master her passion and to be chosen by a patron.

Growing up in the southern Kingdom of Valenia at the renowned Magnalia House should have prepared her for such a life. While some are born with an innate talent for one of the five passions—art, music, dramatics, wit, and knowledge—Brienna struggled to find hers until she belatedly chose to study knowledge. However, despite all her preparations, Brienna’s greatest fear comes true—the solstice does not go according to plan and she is left without a patron.

Months later, her life takes an unexpected turn when a disgraced lord offers her patronage. Suspicious of his intent, and with no other choices, she accepts. But there is much more to his story, and Brienna soon discovers that he has sought her out for his own vengeful gain. For there is a dangerous plot being planned to overthrow the king of Maevana—the archrival kingdom of Valenia—and restore the rightful queen, and her magic, to the northern throne. And others are involved—some closer to Brienna than she realizes.

With war brewing between the two lands, Brienna must choose whose side she will remain loyal to—passion or blood. Because a queen is destined to rise and lead the battle to reclaim the crown. The ultimate decision Brienna must determine is: Who will be that queen?
 


Book 5: Ash Princess by Laura Sebastian 

About: 

Theodosia was six when her country was invaded and her mother, the Queen of Flame and Fury, was murdered before her eyes. Ten years later, Theo has learned to survive under the relentless abuse of the Kaiser and his court as the ridiculed “Ash Princess.” Pretending to be empty-headed and naive when she's not enduring brutal whippings, she pushes down all other thoughts but one: Keep the Kaiser happy and he will keep you safe.

When the Kaiser forces her to execute her last hope of rescue, Theo can't keep her feelings and memories pushed down any longer. She vows revenge, throwing herself into a plot to seduce and murder the Kaiser's warrior son with the help of a group of magically gifted and volatile rebels. But Theo doesn't expect to develop feelings for the Prinz. Or for her rebel allies to challenge her friendship with the one person who's been kind to her throughout the last hopeless decade: her heart's sister, Cress.

Cornered into impossible choices and unable to trust even those who are on her side, Theo will have to decide how far she's willing to go to save her people and how much of herself she's willing to sacrifice to become queen.



Another 5 coming next week!! 








Saturday, November 18, 2017

Turtles All The Way Down by John Green

Title: Turtles All The Way Down
Author: John Green
Pages: 304
Audiobook read by: Kate Rudd
Genre: Contemporary, Young Adult
Publisher: Penguin Teen/Penguin Random House Canada
Release Date: October 10, 2017
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo
Audio- Kobo

Summary (Goodreads)
Sixteen-year-old Aza never intended to pursue the mystery of fugitive billionaire Russell Pickett, but there’s a hundred-thousand-dollar reward at stake and her Best and Most Fearless Friend, Daisy, is eager to investigate. So together, they navigate the short distance and broad divides that separate them from Russell Pickett’s son, Davis.

Aza is trying. She is trying to be a good daughter, a good friend, a good student, and maybe even a good detective, while also living within the ever-tightening spiral of her own thoughts. 

In his long-awaited return, John Green, the acclaimed, award-winning author of Looking for Alaska and The Fault in Our Stars, shares Aza’s story with shattering, unflinching clarity in this brilliant novel of love, resilience, and the power of lifelong friendship.


Review: 

I think Turtles All The Way Down is one of my favourite books of 2017. From the start of listening to the audiobook and reading along with it, I was hooked with the story. You can relate to Aza in many ways. The struggles with anxiety and OCD are both mental issues that we don't see lots of in YA and it was portrayed really well by John Green who also faces OCD.

When you finish the book you can see why the story is called Turtles All The Way Down because Aza's thoughts are spiralling when her other thoughts come to do something else. I loved how John Green created Daisy! She was hilarious, smart and knows what she wants. Her relationship with Aza had so much energy and brought out Aza's personality (even when she is trapped in her own head) and you read about the ups and down of their friendship as her condition does make Aza self-absorbed). Daisy calls it as it is which is another thing I loved about her character.

Lets now get to our other main character, Davis. I loved their awkwardness (with her germaphopia and hypochondria with his own defences) I found that while it was hard to see them try to connect. I felt heartbroken by the end! Which I guess is normal in any of John Green's books. Overall, mental health was portrayed well and it gives awareness for others and connection between all the characters.

4.5/5

Wednesday, November 1, 2017

Cover Reveal: The V Card by Lauren Blakely & Lili Valente



   A brand new sinfully sexy standalone romantic comedy from bestselling authors Lauren Blakely and Lili Valente, THE V CARD is coming December 13, 2017! Pre-order your copy today! Kindle users-stay tuned for the preorder right before release! And don't miss the hot, new cover below!

Cover Design by Helen Williams with Photography by Paul Van Der Linde

 

A brand new sinfully sexy standalone romantic comedy from bestselling authors Lauren Blakely and Lili Valente!  

When you think about how easy it is to lose keys, phones, sunglasses and your dignity on social media, you might figure it'd be a cinch for me to ditch my V Card.

You'd be wrong.

At 25, I run a successful business, live in a fantastic apartment, and have fabulous friends to go out with any night of the week. And yet I'm still a card-carrying member of a club I don't want to belong to anymore. Good thing I know just the man for the deflowering job-my brother's business partner and best friend.

Graham Campbell is charming, smart, and, I'm told, oh-so-skilled in the sack. As long as I keep my eyes on the prize, there's no way this pluck-the-flower project could possibly complicate matters.

***

Work and pleasure. As the CEO of a fast-growing company, I've been enjoying both to the fullest. What do I do when the board throws me for an unexpected loop so I can keep my business in my hands? I enlist the help of my best friend's little sister since she holds a big stake in the company. But then I learn there's another big stake she wants.

The one between my legs.

I can do this. Seven nights to teach her everything I know in the bedroom. There's no way I'll fall for her, even though she's earning top grades in every single sinfully sexy lesson. And turns out I'm learning something too. The trouble is I don't have the answer key to what to do when I fall hard for her.

And that throws a whole new hitch in my plans.

   

PREORDER YOUR COPY TODAY!

iBooks http://apple.co/2xODtep

Kobo http://bit.ly/2iaMFEk

Nook http://bit.ly/2gUcifZ

Amazon PB http://amzn.to/2iEtRkK

Audio THE V CARD will be narrated by Andi Arndt and Sebastian York and it will be available to preorder a few weeks before release!

Goodreads http://bit.ly/2xzzZNF

THE V CARD will be available for Kindle preorder a few days before its Dec 13 release. To receive an alert when the book is live, please sign up for Lili and Lauren’s joint mailing list! https://www.subscribepage.com/TheVCard

 

About Lauren Blakely:

A #1 New York Times Bestselling author, Lauren Blakely is known for her contemporary romance style that's hot, sweet and sexy. She lives in California with her family and has plotted entire novels while walking her dogs. With fourteen New York Times bestsellers, her titles have appeared on the New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal Bestseller Lists more than eighty-five times, and she's sold more than 2 million books. In October, she released HARD WOOD, the final standalone romantic comedy in the Big Rock series. To receive an email when Lauren releases a new book, sign up for her newsletter! laurenblakely.com/newsletter

Website ** Facebook ** Twitter ** Newsletter ** Goodreads

     

About Lili Valente:

USA Today bestselling author Lili Valente writes both naughty things and funny things (that are also naughty). She has slept under the stars in Greece, eaten dinner at midnight with French men who couldn’t be trusted to keep their mouths on their food, and walked alone through Munich’s red light district after dark and lived to tell the tale.

These days you can find her writing in a tent beside the sea, drinking coconut water and thinking delightfully dirty thoughts.

     

Website ** Facebook ** Twitter ** Newsletter ** Goodreads

         

Waiting on Wednesday: Legendary (Caraval #2) by Stephanie Garber

Title: Legendary (Caraval #2) 
Author: Stephanie Garber 
Pages: 417
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult
Publisher: Flatiron Books
Release Date: May 29, 2018

Summary (Goodreads)

Stephanie Garber’s limitless imagination takes flight once more in the colorful, mesmerizing, and immersive sequel to the bestselling and breakout debut Caraval, following Scarlett’s younger sister, Tella, on a journey to the empire’s capital to fulfill a mysterious bargain.



Thursday, October 26, 2017

Most of All You by Mia Sheridan *Giveaway!*

Win a copy of Mia Sheridan's newest book!!


Open to USA/CAN

About Most of All You: 

From the New York Times bestselling author of Archer's Voice, Mia Sheridan delivers a heartwrenching new stand-alone contemporary romance.

A broken woman . . . 

Crystal learned long ago that love brings only pain. Feeling nothing at all is far better than being hurt again. She guards her wounded heart behind a hard exterior and carries within her a deep mistrust of men, who, in her experience, have only ever used and taken.

A man in need of help . . . 

Then Gabriel Dalton walks into her life. Despite the terrible darkness of his past, there's an undeniable goodness in him. And even though she knows the cost, Crystal finds herself drawn to Gabriel. His quiet strength is wearing down her defenses and his gentle patience is causing her to question everything she thought she knew.

Only love can mend a shattered heart . . . 

Crystal and Gabriel never imagined that the world, which had stolen everything from them, would bring them a deep love like this. Except fate will only take them so far, and now the choice is theirs: Harden their hearts once again or find the courage to shed their painful pasts.
 


How to Enter:


1. Follow Stuck In YA Books (GFC)





a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, October 25, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday: Sky in the Deep by Adrienne Young

Title: Sky in the Deep
Author: Adrienne Young
Pages: 352
Genre: Fantasy/YA
Publisher: Wednesday Books
Release Date: April 24, 2018 

Summary (Goodreads) 

Seventeen-year-old Eelyn’s world is war. Raised to fight alongside her Aska clansmen in a generations-old blood feud against the Riki, her life is brutal but simple: fight and survive. Until the day she sees the impossible on the battlefield—her brother, fighting with the enemy—the brother she watched die five years ago. 

Faced with her brother's betrayal, she must survive the winter in the mountains with the Riki if she wants to make it back to the fjord after the thaw. But when she begins to see herself in the people she's been taught to hate, the world Eelyn once knew begins to crumble. And after the village is raided by a ruthless clan many believe to be a myth, Eelyn is given no choice but to trust Fiske, her brother’s friend who has tried more than once to kill her. Together, they must end the blood feud between their clans or watch their people be slaughtered. 

A lush, Viking-age inspired fantasy about loyalty, forgiveness, and the definition of family.




Tuesday, October 24, 2017

Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1) by Leigh Bardugo

Title: Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
Author: Leigh Bardugo
Pages: 384
Genre: Superheroes, Fantasy, YA
Publisher: Random House BYR/ Penguin Random House Canada
Release Date: August 29, 2017
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo
*Received for review from Penguin Random House Canada*

Summary (Goodreads)
She will become one of the world’s greatest heroes: WONDER WOMAN. But first she is Diana, Princess of the Amazons. And her fight is just beginning. . . .

Diana longs to prove herself to her legendary warrior sisters. But when the opportunity finally comes, she throws away her chance at glory and breaks Amazon law—risking exile—to save a mere mortal. Even worse, Alia Keralis is no ordinary girl and with this single brave act, Diana may have doomed the world.

Alia just wanted to escape her overprotective brother with a semester at sea. She doesn’t know she is being hunted. When a bomb detonates aboard her ship, Alia is rescued by a mysterious girl of extraordinary strength and forced to confront a horrible truth: Alia is a Warbringer—a direct descendant of the infamous Helen of Troy, fated to bring about an age of bloodshed and misery.

Together, Diana and Alia will face an army of enemies—mortal and divine—determined to either destroy or possess the Warbringer. If they have any hope of saving both their worlds, they will have to stand side by side against the tide of war.


Review: 

As one of my most anticipated releases of this year it did not disappoint! Leigh Bardugo is one of the my top favorite authors whose writing/world building is amazing. Plus look at that cover!! I've always been a big super hero person and loved the recent Wonder Woman movie! So when I started this I didn't want it to end!! The story is easy to follow and will keep you on the edge of your seat while your reading.

Wonder Woman: Warbringer is about the story of Princess Diana who proves to her warrior sisters as well meet new characters like Alia who is a Warbringer, the direct descendant of Helen of Troy. The book had the power of friendship, action, drama, death, a touch of romance and even some Greek mythology which I love to read about. Each character has their own strength as well as great dialogue which Leigh Bardugo is great at!

If you are a fan of superhero books and Wonder Woman you will definitely want to pick up the book! It's a great retelling of one of my favourite superheroes and shows how powerful friendships rather than just the romance. I really loved this book from the beginning and I'm looking forward to the rest in the DC icon series!

4.5/5

Friday, October 6, 2017

Warcross (Warcross #1) by Marie Lu

Title: Warcross (Warcross #1)
Author: Marie Lu
Pages: 368
Genre: Young Adult, Sci-fi
Publisher: Penguin Teen/Penguin RandomHouse Canada
Release Date: September 12, 2017
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo
*Received for review by Publisher and Indigo Books and Music

Summary (Goodreads)
For the millions who log in every day, Warcross isn’t just a game—it’s a way of life. The obsession started ten years ago and its fan base now spans the globe, some eager to escape from reality and others hoping to make a profit. Struggling to make ends meet, teenage hacker Emika Chen works as a bounty hunter, tracking down players who bet on the game illegally. But the bounty hunting world is a competitive one, and survival has not been easy. Needing to make some quick cash, Emika takes a risk and hacks into the opening game of the international Warcross Championships—only to accidentally glitch herself into the action and become an overnight sensation.

Convinced she’s going to be arrested, Emika is shocked when instead she gets a call from the game’s creator, the elusive young billionaire Hideo Tanaka, with an irresistible offer. He needs a spy on the inside of this year’s tournament in order to uncover a security problem . . . and he wants Emika for the job. With no time to lose, Emika’s whisked off to Tokyo and thrust into a world of fame and fortune that she’s only dreamed of. But soon her investigation uncovers a sinister plot, with major consequences for the entire Warcross empire.


Review:

This was my first Marie Lu book and it did not disappoint!! I was instantly pulled into the story and the game that I was just reading it too fast. I was also able to listen to the audiobook which is also really well done! Since finishing this I will definitely be reading her other books! Marie Lu has delivered us action, romance, and intrigue! I definitely need the next book in this series. This has to be one of my favourite books of this year!

Warcross is such a unique book with a great plot because it's a story about Emika who has hacked into the most famous game out there. She then hacks into the system during the opening games only glitch herself into the system. Then competes in the game itself as a spy to find out a security problem. I absolutely loved this book from beginning to end. There were so many twists and turns that you will not be able to put this book down. Emika is a very likeable character. She is smart, fierce, and even has rainbow hair! I really like how much she develops as a character. Her backstory is so interesting that I was on the edge of my seat!

Overall, Warcross is a must read! While it may appeal to gamers it can be loved by everyone! Looking for a fast paced book you will want to grab the book immediately because Marie Lu is now on my list of favourite authors because her writing is incredible! Now to wish I had the sequel!!

5/5

Wednesday, October 4, 2017

Without Merit by Colleen Hoover

Title: Without Merit
Author: Colleen Hoover
Pages: 384
Genre: Fiction/Romance/New Adult
Publisher: Atria Books/Simon Schuster Canada
Release Date: October 3, 2017
Buy: Amazon| Chapters Indigo| Kobo
*Received for review from Simon Schuster Canada*

Summary (Goodreads)
Not every mistake deserves a consequence. Sometimes the only thing it deserves is forgiveness.

The Voss family is anything but normal. They live in a repurposed church, newly baptized Dollar Voss. The once cancer-stricken mother lives in the basement, the father is married to the mother’s former nurse, the little half-brother isn’t allowed to do or eat anything fun, and the eldest siblings are irritatingly perfect. Then, there’s Merit.

Merit Voss collects trophies she hasn’t earned and secrets her family forces her to keep. While browsing the local antiques shop for her next trophy, she finds Sagan. His wit and unapologetic idealism disarm and spark renewed life into her—until she discovers that he’s completely unavailable. Merit retreats deeper into herself, watching her family from the sidelines when she learns a secret that no trophy in the world can fix.

Fed up with the lies, Merit decides to shatter the happy family illusion that she’s never been a part of before leaving them behind for good. When her escape plan fails, Merit is forced to deal with the staggering consequences of telling the truth and losing the one boy she loves.


Review: 

I've been a big fan of Colleen Hoover's and her newest book, Without Merit did not disappoint me! As one of my most anticipated books of this year it no reason why I wouldn't love this one as well. You should've seen my face when I received the ARC from Simon Schuster. Colleen out did herself with this one because its not like any other of her books! The book is for mature YA and our main character is 17 year old Merit who lives in a little small town in Northeast Texas (very small). The Voss family is very interesting/odd. But its such an addicting read that you won't forget it.

While Merit's family is dysfunctional like any normal family, their life is interesting. You go see the family go through a rollercoaster of motions like accepting who they are in their community and ignoring their main problems. There's also Merit's interactions throughout her day right from the beginning of the book. Colleen Hoover has written us a story that is anything like normal but the story is amazing because of its flaws and it will touch so many people. I just loved it right from the start because in ways I could relate to Merit.

If you love any of Colleen's book you will want to grab this book immediately. It was refreshing and a good change for any reader. While you might not understand her families quirks like their fears, secrets and trying to be understood. There are so many twists and turns and times where you light and have the feels. Also Sagan!! Just loved him. Definitely swoony. Colleen has taken us a little away from her normal romance side but this book had so much more. Any CoHorts will fall in love with this story and it will help bring topics that are concerning today! Go pick Without Merit!!

5/5


Wednesday, September 20, 2017

Cover Reveal: Brave (A Wicked Trilogy #3) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

SYNOPSIS:


Ivy Morgan hasn't been feeling like herself lately. Not like anyone can blame her. After all, being held captive by a psychotic fae prince hell-bent on permanently opening the gates to the Otherworld is bound to leave some mental scars.

It’s more than that, though. Something dark and insidious is spreading throughout Ivy, more powerful than she could ever imagine... and it’s coming between her and the man she’s fallen deeply in love with, elite Order member Ren Owens.

Ren would do anything to keep Ivy safe. Anything. But when he makes a life altering choice for her, the fallout of his act has far reaching consequences that threaten to tear their lives apart.
If Ivy is going to have any hope of surviving this, she must put aside the hurt and betrayal she feels, and work with not only those she loves, but with an enemy she would rather kill than ever trust. War is coming, and it soon becomes clear that what Ivy and Ren thought they knew about the Order, themselves, and even their enemies, has been nothing but a cluster of dangerous, deadly lies. Ivy knows she must be more than just brave to save those she loves--and, ultimately, to save herself.

Because behind ever evil fae Prince, there’s a Queen

ADDITIONAL INFO: 

Series: The Wicked Trilogy, Book # 3
RELEASE DATE: December 11th, 2017
Available Formats: Paperback (U.S./Canada) and E-book


Virtual Signing Information: 


To celebrate the upcoming release of BRAVE (book 3 in the Wicked Saga), Jennifer is offering an exclusive virtual signing! Through this virtual signing, you will be able to order SIGNED & PERSONALIZED copies of WICKED, TORN, and BRAVE!
And best of all -- This is OPEN INTERNATIONALLY! 



- Virtual Signing opens 9/21/17 at 11AM ET
- Virtual Signing ends 11/17/17
- Open Internationally
Author Info!!
  
BIO:

# 1 NEW YORK TIMES Bestselling author Jennifer lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing. She spends her time reading, working out, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russell Loki.


SOCIAL MEDIA LINKS:


GIVEAWAY INFO

·      PRIZE: SURPRISE SIGNED PRIZE PACK (containing multiple signed books & swag)
·      OPEN INTERNATIONAL
·      ENDS 10/2/17


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...